Opposition parties laud IAF


In the wake of the ongoing tensions between India and Pakistan, the leaders of 21 opposition parties on Wednesday met in parliament. Condemning the terror attack in Pulwama, the opposition parties lauded the armed forces and expressed deep concern for the Indian Air Force (IAF) pilot who went missing during this morning’s engagement with Pakistani Air Force.

After the meeting the parties issued a joint statement.

The statement can be read here:

“The meeting of leaders of 21 political parties condemned the dastardly Pulwama terror attack by Pakistan-sponsored terrorists of Jaish-e-Mohammed on 14th February 2019. The meeting paid homage to our martyrs and expressed solidarity with our Armed Forces in crushing the menace of terrorism.

The meeting lauded the action taken by the Indian Air Force against the terrorist camp on 26th February 2019 and praised our Armed Forces for their valour and bravery. The meeting of 21 parties expressed their deep anguish over the blatant politicization of the sacrifices made by our Armed Forces by leaders of the ruling party. National security must transcend narrow political considerations. The leaders observed that the Prime Minister has, regrettably, not convened an-all party meeting as per the established practice in our democracy.

The leaders expressed concern on the emerging security situation. Post the statement from the MEA regarding targeting of our military installations and loss of one fighter aircraft, the leaders condemned the Pakistani misadventure and expressed their deep concern for the safety of our missing pilot. Leaders urged the Government to take the nation into confidence on all measures to protect India’s sovereignty, unity and integrity.”

The meeting was attended by former Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Congress president Rahul Gandhi, TMC chief and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister and TDP Chief Chandra Babu Naidu, CPI (M) General Secretary Sitaram Yechury, NCP Chief Sharad Pawar, Tiruchi Siva of DMK, Loktantrik Janata Dal leader Sharad Yadav and others.

You might also like