Phani Sarma award To be Conferred to Aishwarya Kakati & Bhabesh Baruah

The State Government has named two renowned dramatists Aishwarya Kakati and Bhabesh Baruah for the Natasurya Phani Sarma Memorial Award 2020. Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal will present the award to the two artistes on July 31 at a function which will be organized by the Directorate of culture, Assam in association with Sonitpur District Administration at Tezpur Baan Theatre. The award carries Rs. 2 lakh in cash, a citation, and an Angabastra. Along with other chief guests, Cultural Affairs Minister Naba Kumar Doley will be present in the function.

Aishwarya Kakati is a renowned name in the field of Drama in Assam. He has numerous plays and performances to his credit. A few of the drama that Kakati had performed include- Upapath, Sako, Baruar Xanxar, Baan, Mrityunjay, Olympic, Emuthi Saul, Rupalim, etc. Ratir Jui, Xekh Prahar, Joy Jayanti, Apabitra Devota, Agnigarvar Janmabhumi are a few of dramas directed by Kakati for theatre.

On the other hand, noted actor Bhabesh Baruah performed in two of the dramas Bhogjora and Brikhyor Khoj while he was working at the Directorate of Culture, Assam. He has performed and directed in almost all the theatre groups of Assam including Kohinoor, Abahan, Aparupa, Bordoisila, and Bhagyadevi.

You might also like