Phase-II: All You Need To Know About 5 Assam LS Seats


With only two days left for the second phase of polling of Lok Sabha elections, the political parties as well as the candidates across the country stepped up campaigning. The campaigning for the second phase will end on Tuesday. 97 parliamentary constituencies spread over 13 States and Union Territories will go to polls in this phase on April 18.

In Assam, five parliamentary constituencies will go to polls in this phase. The constituencies are: Karimganj, Silchar, Autonomous District, Mangaldoi and Nowgong.

Here are some details about the constituencies:

Karimganj: As many as 14 candidates are in the fray for the Karimganj Lok Sabha constituency. BJP candidate Kripanath Mallah and Congress’ candidate Swarup Das will contest election from the seat against sitting MP of AIUDF, Radheshyam Biswas.

  • Total voters: 13,38,005
  • Male voters: 6,96,638
  • Female voters: 6,41,349
  • Transgender voters: 18
  • Total polling stations: 1,721

Assembly Constituencies: Ratabari (SC), Patharkandi, Karimganj North, Karimganj South, Badarpur, Hailakandi, Katlicherra, Algapur.

Silchar: In Silchar, there are 13 candidates in the fray for the seat. Congress’ sitting MP Sushmita Dev will fight against BJP’s Rajdeep Roy from the seat.

  • Total voters: 11,91,289
  • Male voters: 6,13,931
  • Female voters: 5,77,283
  • Transgender voters: 75
  • Total polling stations: 1,461

Assembly Constituencies: Silchar, Sonai, Dholai (SC), Udharbond, Lakhipur, Barkhola, Katigorah.

Autonomous District: There are 5 candidates in the fray for the Autonomous District Lok Sabha seat. BJP candidate Horen Sing Bey will contest against Congress’ sitting MP Biren Singh Engti.

  • Total voters: 7,95,085
  • Male voters: 4,04,528
  • Female voters: 3,90,551
  • Transgender voters: 6
  • Polling stations: 1,174

Assembly Constituencies: Haflong (ST), Bokajan (ST), Howraghat (ST), Diphu (ST), Baithalangso (ST).

Mangaldoi: In Mangaldoi, there are as many as 11 candidates in the fray for the seat. Congress’ Bhubaneswar Kalita will contest against BJP’s Dilip Saikia for the seat.

  • Total voters: 17,95,529
  • Male voters: 9,20,977
  • Female voters: 8,74,520
  • Transgender voters: 32
  • Total polling stations: 2,353

Assembly Constituencies: Kamalpur, Rangiya, Nalbari, Paneri (ST), Kalaigaon, Sipajhar, Mangaldoi (SC), Dalgaon, Udalguri (ST), Majbat.

Nowgong: There are 7 candidates in the fray for the Nowgong Lok Sabha constituency. Congress’ Pradyut Bordoloi will fight for the seat against BJP’s Rupak Sharma.

  • Total voters: 17,90,684
  • Male voters: 9,18,386
  • Female voters: 8,72,249
  • Transgender voters: 49
  • Total polling stations: 2,283

Assembly Constituencies: Jagiroad (SC), Marigaon, Laharighat, Raha (SC), Nowgong, Barhampur, Jamunamukh, Hojai, Lumding.

You might also like