Polling begins for Assam Panchayat poll’s 1st phase


Voting was underway on Wednesday for the first phase of the panchayat polls across 16 districts in Assam amid tight security. Voters were seen queuing outside polling stations in the districts despite the morning chill.

Polling started at 7 a.m. and will end at 3.30 p.m.

Voting was underway in Tinsukia, Dibrugrah,Sivasagar, Charaideo, Jorhat, Majuli,Golaghat, Nagaon, Dhemaji, Lakhimpur, Biswanath, Sonitpur, Darrang, Morigaon, Kamrup (M) and Kamrup.

Of 23,505 polling stations, 11,597 are comparatively safe, 8,243 sensitive and 3,665 are very sensitive. Apart from security personnel, 1,56,255 civil servants are also engaged in the election process.

Total Seats : (First Phase)
ZPC– 251
Anchalik Panchayat – 1304
Gaon Panchayat president – 1304
Gaon panchayat member – 13040

Altogether 734 candidates were declared elected unopposed, including 442 candidates for the first phase and 292 for the second phase in Assam Panchayat Polls, 2018 – according to the reports of Assam State Election Commission.

You might also like