Polls to 3 autonomous councils on January 21

The State Election Commission announced the schedules for elections to Mising Autonomous Council, Sonowal Kachari Autonomous Council and Rabha Hasong Autonomous Council on Friday.

The elections to the three Autonomous Councils will be held on January 21 and counting of votes will be conducted on January 28.

Assam state election commissioner Harendra Nath Bora said that notifications for the elections of three councils have been issued and last date for nominations would be January 11 and scrutiny will take place next day.

The last date for withdrawal of the nominations will be January 14.

The 5-year term of the Rabha Hasong Autonomous Council has expired on December 23, 2018, while the 5-year term of Sonowal Kachari Autonomous Council has expired on October 29, 2018.

On the other hand, the five-year term of Mising Autonomous Council has ended on November 7, 2018.

The elections will be held in 36 each constituency of the three Autonomous Councils.


You might also like