President nominates four eminent personalities to Rajya Sabha


In exercise of the powers conferred by Article 80 of the Constitution of India and on the advice of the Prime Minister, the President of India has made four nominations to the Rajya Sabha.

According to the Article 80(1) (a) read with Article 80(3) of the Constitution of India, the President can nominate 12 persons, having special knowledge, or practical experience in respect of literature, science, art and social service to Rajya Sabha.

Currently there are eight nominated members in the Rajya Sabha and hence had been left with four vacancies.

The four nominated are – Ram Shakal is a three time MP from Robertsganj constituency of Uttar Pradesh, fighting for the welfare and well-being of the Dalit community and also a farmer leader supporting the cause of farmers, labourers and migrants.

The second to be nominated is a Professor of Motilal Nehu College of Delhi University and an author, Rakesh Sinha.  He is the Founder and Director of the Delhi-based “India Policy Foundation”. He is currently a member of the Indian Council of Social Science Research.

Raghunath Mohapatra is the third to be nominated. He is an internationally renowned authority on stone carving. He has also worked on the beautification of the Jagannath Temple, Puri. His famous works include the Wooden Buddha in the Buddha Temple, Paris.

Finally, the President has nominated Sonal Mansingh an eminent exponent Indian Classical Dance.

You might also like