Rafiqul Islam wins from Jania


Badruddin Ajmal-led AIUDF’s Hafiz Rafiqul Islam has won in the Assembly by-election from Jania constituency by a margin of 35,037 votes against Congress’ Shamsul Hoque.

According to sources, Rafiqul Islam secured 81,608 votes while Congress candidate Hoque secured 46,571 votes in the Jania Assembly constituency. On the other hand, BJP candidate Towfiqur Rahman secured 15,239 votes.

Meanwhile, BJP candidates have won from both Ratabari and Rangapara constituencies, while in Sonari, the BJP candidate Nabanita Handique is taking a lead against her Congress opponent Sushil Kumar Suri.

The by-polls to these constituencies were necessitated after sitting BJP MLAs Pallab Lochan Das (Rangapara), Topon Gogoi (Sonari) and Kripanath Mallah (Ratabari) along with Congress MLA Abdul Khaleque (Jania) were elected to the Lok Sabha.

You might also like