30th Oct Blast | Ranjan Daimary, 14 other convicted


The CBI’s special court on Monday convicted Ranjan Daimary and 14 others in the 30th October Serial Bomb Blast that shook Assam and claimed the lives of 88 people.

The other 14 convicts are George Bodo, Jayanta Brahma, Ajay Basumatary, Prabhat Bodo, Raju Sarkar, Khargeshwar Basumatary, Rajen Goyary, B Thorai alias Baisagi, Lok Basumatary, Mathuram Brahma, Mridul Goyary, Nilim Daimary, Ansai Bodo and Indra Bodo.

The Court will pronounce the punishment on January 30.

The CBI’s special court pronounce its judgement after 10 years of hearings against the National Democratic Front of Boroland  (NDFB) chief Ranjan Daimari and fifteen others accused under  section 120(B), 121, 122, 123 and 302 of the IPC.

It is to be mentioned that the blast claimed lives of 88 innocent people and injured 580 people in a series of bomb blasts allegedly carried out by the Ranjan Daimary- led National Democratic Front of Boroland (NDFB) militants in Guwahati, Kokrajhar, Bongaigaon and Barpeta on October 30, 2008.

Details awaited…

You might also like