RS Polls 2020: Check state-wise results


The ruling Congress in Rajasthan has won two Rajya Sabha. The opposition BJP managed to get one seat in the Rajya Sabha polls. KC Venugopal and Neeraj Dangi of the Congress party were declared winner while Rajendra Gehlot of the BJP also got elected. The BJP had fielded a second candidate as well, Onkar Singh Lakhawat, but he lost. With this, the number of Congress party’s Rajya Sabha MPs from Rajasthan has increased to three, out of a total of 10. The rest seven are BJP members.

Ruling YSR Congress in Andhra Pradesh has bagged all four Rajya Sabha in the biennal election. Deputy Chief Minister Pilli Subhash Chandra Bose, minister Mopidevi Venkata Ramana, industrialist Parimal Nathwani and realtor Ayodhya Rami Reddy of the YSRC got 38 votes each.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won two seats while Congress managed one. Veteran Congress leader Digvijay Singh won from the grand-old party while BJP’s Jyotiraditya Scindia and Sumer Singh Solanki got elected. Congress candidate and Dalit leader Phool Singh Barriya lost the election.

BJP and JMM have won one seat each in Jharkhand Rajya Sabha elections. BJP candidate Deepak Prakash and JMM’s Shibu Soren were announced the winners. The polling for the two Rajya Sabha seats in Jharkhand was necessitated as the tenure of Independent member Parimal Nathwani and RJD’s Prem Chand Gupta had ended in April.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders Narhari Amin, Ajay Bhardwaj, Ramilaben Bara, and Congress leader Shaktisinh Gohil have been elected as Rajya Sabha members from Gujarat.

Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) candidate Dr WR Kharlukhi won the lone Rajya Sabha seat from Meghalaya defeating Congress candidate Kennedy Khyriem. He secured 39 out of the 58 valid votes, defeating his rival Kennedy Khyriem of the Congress who got 19 votes. The Congress has 19 MLAs in the 60-member House.

BJP candidate Leisemba Sanajaoba won the election to the lone Rajya Sabha seat in Manipur, defeating the Congress nominee in a high-voltage political drama. Sanajaoba, the titular king of Manipur, received 28 votes. Congress candidate T Mangi Babu got 24 votes. The win will be a major boost to the ruling BJP-led coalition in the state which was on a sticky wicket after the rebellion of nine MLAs.

You might also like