Sadin-Pratidin Achiever Awards presented in a glittering ceremony

The Sixth Sadin-Pratidin Achiever Awards were presented today in a glittering ceremony at Sriamanta Shankardeva Kalakshetra in the presence of a galaxy of social leaders drawing from every walk of Assam’s Social spectrum.

Every year, the Sadin-Pratidin group awards some of the luminaries who have excelled in their chosen area of activities ranging from literature to corporate, from culture to sports.

This time the Lifetime Achievement Award was given to eminent writer-intellectual Homen Borgohain.

READ MORE: Sadin-Pratidin Achiever Awards 2019

The ceremony was attended by Assam Governor Prof. Jagadish Mukhi and Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal while former President Pranab Mukharjee joined with a video link due to his indisposition.

Addressing the occasion former President Mukharjee lauded Sadin-Pratidin group and its Group Chairman Jayanta Baruah for recognizing the talents of Assam through the award. He also recalled the emergence of the house from the family of Hem Chandra Barua who a century ago gave Assam and Assamese its first dictionary Hemkosh.

Parsing the awardees and Mr Homen Borgohain in particular for his long contribution to the field of journalism, Mr Mukharjee went on to describe how media had been playing the role of nation-building over the decades in India and urged it to remain watchdog for a healthy democracy.

Speaking on occasion, Assam Governor Prof Mukhi lamented the Sadin-Pratidin group for felicitating people from all walks of life every year.

“Today, media has been well-established. We are living in an era of information technology where media plays a vital role in influencing and changing socio and political values. As we all know that media is considered to be the fourth pillar in a democratic country and it maintains a balance between the other three pillars, which are Judiciary, Executive and Legislative. Therefore, it is very important for all the media houses to be responsible in what message they are delivering. Sadin Pratidin is such a group who has been very bold in showing the right and wrong to the people of Assam, unbiased! They have been successfully connecting a thread of unity and prosperity among all the tribes and communities of Assam,” he said.

About the long journey of the Sadin-Pratidin group, he said, “It is a nice and epochal moment for all of us because the Sadin Pratidin Group, the popular media voice of Assam, has traversed a long way braving all odds since its inception 30 years ago. For this, I would like to thank Sri Jayanta Baruah, the spirit behind the Group and his fellow hard workers who have tried their best to materialize the dreams of the people of Assam into reality.”

Meanwhile addressing the occasion, Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal underlined the role played by media and also its contributions in nation-building. “Journalists are the conscience of society. They have been performing their duty responsibly for the benefit of the society,” Sonowal said, adding that the four pillars of democracy must work together responsibly with sincerity and commitment to ensure the wellbeing of the people of the state.

Earlier Chairman of Sadin-Pratidin Group Jayanta Barua welcoming the invitees, awardees and the dignitaries, he committed that the group, like the past three decades, would continue to serve the state of Assam and will raise the issue that state confronts.

The complete list of Achiever Awards 2019 is:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award for Homen Borgohain.
  • SADIN Journalism & Literature Award for Shashi Sarma.
  • Excellence in Art award for Dr. Janak Jhankar Narzary.
  • Excellence in Sports award for Lovlina Borgohain and Jamuna Boro.
  • Excellence in Business award for Oja Group.
  • Excellence in Social Service award for Patal Kanya Jamatia.
  • Excellence in Corporate award for Ranjit Barthakur.
  • Excellence in Culture award for Rima Das.
  • Excellence in Music award for Kalpana Patowary.
  • Excellence in Science & Innovation award for Dr. Khiradhar Baruah.
  • Excellence in Health Care award for Dr. Tapan Kumar Saikia.
  • Excellence in Public Service award for Ram Singh.
  • Special Appreciation of Jury Debabrat Rabha.
You might also like