Sahitya Sabha felicitates 8 renowned personalities

Proprietor of Sadin-Pratidin group Jayanta Baruah gets M.N Choudhury memorial award


A few leading persons of the state were felicitated by the Nalbari district Sahitya Sabha on Sunday at Nalbari Natya Mandir.

In the felicitation ceremony, Sahitya Sabha offers ‘Mahendra Narayan Choudhury memorial award’ to the proprietor of ‘Sadin-Pratidin group’ Jayanta Baruah.

Mahendra Narayan Choudhury was a visionary, philanthropist and social activist. He put his life’s earnings into creating educational institutions for students which underscore his unflinching social commitment and his ideal of giving without expecting anything in return.

Among those felicitated were Phanindra Devchoudhury (Sahitya Sadhana Award), Monikuntala Bhattacharya (Katha Sahitya award), Bidyanath Dahal (Nabadip Award), Abhijit Bhattacharya (Natya Sahitya award), Sanjib Pal Deka (Nobin Golpokar award), Samir Tanti (Bihogi Kobi award), Pranab Kumar Barman (Jamiruddin Ahmed memorial award).

Receiving the felicitation, Jayanta Baruah said “Mahendra Narayan Choudhury was a visionary person. He has created edifices that will keep him in public memory for all the time to come. The MNC Balika Mahavidyalaya, Nalbari was established solely with the liberal charity of the great philanthropist. I am honoured to receive this award.”

You might also like