Setback to Chandrababu, 4 Rajya Sabha MPs Join BJP


The BJP on Thursday got a shot in the arm which strengthened its position in the Rajya Sabha as four Telugu Desam Party parliamentarians joined the saffron party.

The development comes when TDP chief and former Andhra Pradesh chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu is abroad with his family spending vacations.

Earlier in a day, three MPs made it clear that they would switch over to the ruling party while another one followed the suit.

Naidu-led party MPs CM Ramesh, YS Chowdary and TG Venkatesh met Vice President and Rajya Sabha chairman Venkaiah Naidu and apprised him about their decision. Ramesh and Chowdary and Ramesh were senior most leaders of the TDP and very close to the former chief minister.

Currently, the TDP has six MPs in the 245-member upper house of the Parliament. Now, its position will reduce from six to two.

You might also like