Sikkim By-Polls | CM Wins from Poklok Kamrang Seat


Sikkim Chief Minister Prem Singh Tamang alias PS Golay won the by-poll to the Poklol Kamrang Assembly seat by 8,953 votes. The founder of Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) defeated his nearest rival Moses Rai of the Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF), said an election officer.

While Golay secured 10,811 votes, Rai polled 1858 votes. The SKM Chief secured 84 percent of the 12,870 votes polled in the seat on October 21.

Moreover, Yadhu Kumar Rai of the Sikkim Republican Party stood third with 125 votes while 76 votes were polled in the option None of the Above (NOTA).

The alliance partner of SKM, BJP too opened its account in the state, with its candidate Sonam TSH Venchungpa winning from Martam Rumtek Assembly seat by defeating his nearest rival Nuk Tshering Bhutia of the SDF by 6,150 votes.

Venchungpa secured 8,204 votes while Bhutia secured 2,054 votes. Nima Lepcha of the Hamro Sikkim Party stood thord with 1,235 votes.

However, some 154 NOTA votes were polled and the counting of votes for the Gangtok Assembly seat is underway.

You might also like