State EC & Assam Police gear up for LS polls


The State Election Commission (EC) and Assam Police have geared up for the upcoming General Elections to be held in three different phases starting from April 11. According to EC, altogether 28,143 polling stations to be set up across the State for the elections.

Out the total polling stations, 1426 polling stations have been identified as vulnerable. The administration will deploy CRPF jawans in those stations. Videography and webcasting will also be used in those stations, informed State election commission. The EC also informed that there are highest numbers of vulnerable polling stations under Tezpur Lok Sabha constituency.

Here is the list of constituencies with numbers of vulnerable polling stations:

  • Tezpur: 409
  • Kaliabor: 169
  • Jorhat: 24
  • Dibrugarh: Nil
  • Lakhimpur: 31
  • Karimganj: 9
  • Sichar: 5
  • Diphu: 296
  • Mongoldai: 183
  • Nagaon: 33
  • Dhubri: 80
  • Kokrajhar: 153
  • Barpeta: Nil
  • Guwahati: 34

Meanwhile, Deputy Election Commissioner of India will be visiting Assam on Monday (March 18) to review election preparedness in the State and will chair meeting with the DCs and SPs of the State.

You might also like