Total Lockdown in Guwahati from Today: Check Guidelines


The Kamrup (M) district administration has imposed total lockdown in 11 wards from 9 pm on Tuesday. The lockdown has been imposed due to the rising number of cases of COVID-19 in the district.

Addressing a press conference, the Kamrup (M) Deputy Commissioner Biswajit Pegu said that the lockdown will be imposed for two weeks and if necessary the time period will be increased further.

The hotels, educational institutions, temples, gatherings will be prohibited in the lockdown areas. The DC further informed that not more than 20 people will be allowed to attend last rites of any people.

The DC further informed that the government will deploy central and state police so that no untoward incident could take place during the lockdown period and that people could maintain social distance.

Selling of liquor is prohibited during the lockdown. The DC also informed that the grocery shops will remain open from 10 AM to 5 PM. Bank and ATMs will remain functional.

The areas proposed for lockdown are given below:

Ward No 2- Ferry Ghat Colony No 2, 3, 4, 5 & 6, New Railway Colony, Institute Colony, Triangular Colony, LOCO Colony, B.B.C Colony, Part of Sadilapur, Garpandu, Jaymati Nagar

Ward No 3– Rest Camp Colony, Water Works Railway Colony, Temple Ghat Colony, Maligaon Baripara area, Garpandu area, Adabari, Adabari Rly Colony, Green Park Colony, Anandanagar, Maligaon area

Ward No 4: Kamakhya Temple, Kamakhya Colony Area, Pandu Nath Basti and Kalipur area and rest of Maligaon area.

Ward No 5: Maligaon Railway Colony (East and West), Gotanagar Rly Colony(West, Central and East), Gosala Rly Colony, Durgasarobar and Santipur, Bhutnath

Ward No 6: Dhirenpara, Ganeshpara, Manpara, Datalpara, Kotahbari, Gorcghuk and Jyotikuchi (Part)

Ward No 7: Gotanagar (Part), Goatanagar NC, Maligaon NC, Fatasil NC, Durgasarobar, Fatasil, Dhirenpara Hill Side

Ward No 8: Kumarpara, Machkhowa, Athgaon (Part), Bharalumukh

Ward No 9: Chatribari, Krishna Nagar, Tokobari, Fancy Bazaar, Athgaon (Part)

Ward No 10 (Part)- Panbazaar, FancyBazaar (Part), Solapara

Ward No 15– Bishnupur, Natunbasti, Bimalanagar, Mahendra Nagar, Sankarpur, Fatasil (Part)

Ward No 16: Bhaskar Nagar, Barsapara, Dhirenpara (Part), Anandanagar, Rongpathar.

Here are the complete guidelines of total lockdown:

You might also like