Voting begins for Delhi Assembly elections


Polling for the assembly elections in Delhi has begun at 8 AM today. The voting will continue till 6 PM. Around one crore 47 lakh voters will exercise their franchise on Saturday. As many as 672 candidates are in the fray for 70 seats.

A maximum of 28 candidates are contesting from New Delhi constituency, while a minimum of four candidates are contesting from Patel Nagar seat.

Meanwhile, the Delhi Police has deployed 42 thousand personnel, 190 companies of Paramilitary forces and 19 thousand home guards for security during the election process.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has appealed people to vote in large numbers in Delhi Assembly elections. In a tweet, PM Modi especially urged young voters to exercise their franchise in record numbers.

You might also like