Zoramthanga sworn in as Mizoram’s new CM


In Mizoram, Zoramthanga, President of Mizo National Front (MNF) sworn in as the Chief Minister in Aizawl on Saturday afternoon.

Governor Kummanam Rajasekharan administered the oath of office and secrecy to Zoramthanga and his council of Ministets at Raj Bhavan. In the November 28 election to the 40-member State legislative Assembly, MNF dethroned Congress from power by bagging 26 seats. Congress was reduced to 5 seats and Independents bagged 8 seats and BJP 1.

In the swearing-in ceremony at Raj Bhavan, along with Zoramthanga, Tawnluia has been sworn in as Deputy CM and 10 other Ministers have also been sworn in.

74 year old Zoramthanga was Chief Minister for two terms earlier from 1998 to 2008. Among others, former Chief Minister Lalthanhawla, Meghalaya Chief Minister Conard Sangma, and leaders of various parties such as AGP attended the ceremony.

You might also like