BJP drops half of their MPs in Assam

Gohain's wife is in Nagaon


The BJP has dropped half of their existing MPs  in Assam as list of the BJP candidates are being  released by tonight, forcing one to resign, two to surrender and another still clinging for last minute miracle in ticket distribution.

The BJP dropped Jorhat MP Kamkhya Prasad Tasa, Union minister Rajen Gohain, Tezpur MP R P Sharma and likely to drop veteran  Bijoya Chakravarty. Only  from the old BJP Ramen Deka is likely to survive.

Kamakhaya Tasa and Rajen Gohain have surrendered and R P Sharma resigned in humiliation while Bijoya Chakrvarty is still hoping of securing a ticket using the window of  women quota. She is 79.

Kamakhaya Tasa and Rajen Gohain addressed media today and informed  and they would abide by the party decision. The party insiders have said that he bargained the seat for his wife at the last moment.

But the  loud mouth R P Sharma could not digest the humiliation of his name not being forwarded in the panel for Tezpur seat and announced his resignation through social media.

The BJP is bringing in Tapan Gogoi in place of Tasa, Rajen Gohain’s wife Rita Nath Gohain in place of her husband and Himanta Biswa Sharma in place of R P Sharma. The BJP list has complete Himanta Biswa Sharma stamp all over as he could  put most of his men in all the 14 Lok Sabha constituency and obvious choice for the plum ministry if he wins an  BJP voted  to power.

Union Minister of State for Railway Rajen Gohain fought hard and when the four time MP was sure of losing the seat, he lobbied hard for his wife Rita Nath Gohain. Although till last night the deal was to get ticket to Nagaon MLA Rupak Sharma and get Rajen Gohain’s son elected through the seat to be vacated by Rupak Sharma.

But Gohan found the proposition fraught with risk and pitched hard for his wife, who is a long term BJP local level leader and perfectly fit into to the women quota and thus by shutting out Bijoya Chakravarty from the race to get the Guwahati ticket through Women quota.

The actual list is being announced  by tonight as AGP leaders are also meeting the BJP leaders beside the Party President Amit Shah to talk out about the three candidates they are putting in. AGP is putting up  Moni Madhab Mahanta in Koliabor, Bhupen Ray in Barpeta and  Zaved Islam in Dhubri.

The AGP has tough time in all three constituencies and their best bet is in Koliabor where too Moni Madhab Mahanta have been facing popular ire of the people as he ditched AASU only three days back to contest Lok Sabha election in AGP ticket. He was the vice president of the ASSU as well as brother of AGP Minister Keshab Mahanta.

You might also like