Cong-JD(S) govt in Karnataka may fall


At least 13 MLAs on Saturday have resigned from the Karnataka government. Reports said 13 MLAs have reached the legislative Assembly Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar’s office in the Vidhana Soudha.

If reports are to be believed, the recent resignation of 13 MLAs will be a big blow to coalition partners JD(S) and Congress who are governing the state.

The resignations come at a time when Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy is in the US and is set to return on July 8. The 13 MLAs including two independents – R Shankar wand H Nagesh.

Last week, two Congress MLAs Anand Singh and Ramesh Jarkiholi resigned from Karnataka government. The current strength of the coalition government is 117. After the resignation of 13 more MLAs, the strength will be down to 102. Reports said that most of the leaders are set to join BJP. 

The BJP’s current strength in the Legislative Assembly is 105 and requires the coalition to come down to 102 to cross the halfway mark. The current strength of the Assembly has already been reduced to 222 after Singh and Jarkiholi resignations.  

You might also like