Documents needed to cast your vote


The first phase of the seven-stage 2019 General Election to Lok Sabha kicks off on 11 April with voters from 91 Lok Sabha constituencies of 20 states exercising their franchisee to select their representatives.

And to cast their vote, every voter is required to carry voter slip (it can be downloaded online from along with their voter identification card (also known as Electors Photo Identity Card or EPIC or Voter’s ID) that is issued by the Election Commission of India (EC).

Any voter who fails to produce voter ID, they can use the following documents which can be used instead of a Voter ID card as a photo identity proof to cast vote:

  1. Passport
  2. Driving licence
  3. Service identity card of the state government or the central government
  4. PAN card
  5. Aadhar card
  6. Passbook issued by bank or post office
  7. MGNREGA job card
  8. Health insurance card issued by the Ministry of Labour
  9. Pension document with a photograph
  10. Authenticated photo voter slip issued by the election commission
  11. public limited companies
  12. passbooks issued by banks or post office
  13. Pension document with photograph and official identity cards issued to MPs, MLAs and MLCs.
You might also like