HD Kumaraswamy to swear-in as Chief Minister of Karnataka

JD(S) leader HD Kumaraswamy is set to swear-in as Chief Minister of Karnataka at 4:30 on Wednesday. Governor Vajubhai Vala will administer the oath of office and secrecy at the grand steps of Vidhana Soudha, the state secretariat.

Congress leader G Parameshwar will be sworn-in as Deputy Chief Minister. Minister designates to take oath as well.

Congress MLA Ramesh Kumar will be the Speaker. The new cabinet will have 22 ministers from Congress and 12 from JD(S).

United Progressive Alliance (UPA) chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Congress president Rahul Gandhi, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) chief Mayawati, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu, CPI (M) General Secretary Sitaram Yechury, and Makkal Needhi Maiam chief Kamal Haasan are scheduled to attend the swearing-in ceremony.

Rest of the ministry and portfolio allocation will be decided after the floor test which is due to be held on May 24.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday has observed “Anti-People’s Mandate Day” in Karnataka ahead of the formation of the Janata Dal (Secular)-Congress coalition government in the state.

An official party statement released on Tuesday read, “The Congress and JDS hijacked the people’s mandate and entered into an unholy alliance. On the day this unholy coalition government takes office, that is tomorrow, Wednesday, 23.5.2018, the BJP has decided to observe this day as Anti People’s Mandate Day”.

You might also like