Himanta to abide by party’s decision


State Finance Minister-cum-convener of North-East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) Himanta Biswa Sarma will not be contesting from the Tezpur constituency : BJP’s Assam chief Ranjit Kumar Das said.

Attending the Holi festival in Barpeta Satra, Das said that “As the convener of North-East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) Himanta Biswa Sharma will look after the election campaigning of Assam and entire north-east.”

Das also asserted that Himanta would abide by the decision of party high command.

It may be mentioned that BJP is still seen in dilemma over two seats, Nagaon and Tezpur.

Besides Himanta Biswa, Ritu Baran Sarmah, Ashok Bhattrai, R P Sarmah, Rajen Borthakur, Kamakhya Prasad Tasa, Pallab Lochan Das and Kishore Upadhyaya names were also listed in the list.
Himanta Biswa Sarma was likely to be the BJP candidate from Tezpur, there are reports that he may not contest the election as per advice of the party’s central leadership.
You might also like