India gets its first Lokpal


India has finally got its first Lokpal. Justice Pinaki Chandra Ghose has been appointed as the country’s first Lokpal.

According to a Rashtrapati Bhavan-issued statement, President Ram Nath Kovind has appointed the Chairman of the Lokpal along with other members of the anti-corruption watchdog.

There will be four judicial and four non-judicial members in the Lokpal. The judicial members are Former Chief Justices Dilip B Bhosale, Pradip Kumar Mohanty, Abhilasha Kumari and sitting Chief Justice of Chhattisgarh High Court Ajay Kumar Tripathi. The non-judicial members are former first woman Chief of Sashastra Seema Bal Archana Ramasundaram, ex-Maharashtra Chief Secretary Dinesh Kumar Jain, former IRS officer Mahender Singh and ex-IAS officer Indrajeet Prasad Gautam.

An erstwhile Supreme Court judge, Justice Ghose retired as Supreme Court judge in May, 2017. He is a member of the National Human Rights Commission since 29th June, 2017.

You might also like