India win first bilateral ODI series in Australia by 2-1


History created in Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) as India beat Australia in the third and final ODI by 7-wickets on Friday to win first bilateral series in Australia.

Indian skipper Virat Kohli after winning toss, elected to bowl first and Indian bowlers gave a clinical performance to reduce the Aussies to 230 runs in 48.4 overs.

Later chasing a target of 231, MS Dhoni scored 87 (not out) in 114 balls and took India to a historic series win in Australia. He was assisted by Kedar Jadhav on the other end, who scored an unbeaten 61 in 57 balls.

Yuzvendra Chahal, who took six Australian wickets for 42 runs, was declared Man of the Match, while MS Dhoni, who scored three fifties in three matches, has been declared Player of the Series.

“I am happy to bat at any number. The important thing is where the team needs me. I can’t say I can’t bat at No. 6 after playing 14 years,” Dhoni said after the match.

You might also like