Lionel Messi wins sixth Ballon d’Or award


Lionel Messi has set a new record by becoming the first player in history to win six Ballon d’Or trophies.

The Barcelona forward edged out Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk to win the award, while the Argentine’s long-time rival Cristiano Ronaldo, who did not attend the ceremony on Monday evening, finished in third place.

Messi, who lifted the coveted trophy in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015, helped Barcelona win La Liga this year and led Argentina to third place at the Copa America in July.

Meanwhile, Van Dijk was a pivotal part of Liverpool’s Champions League win this year and has been instrumental in the team’s push for the Premier League title.

The Dutch defender was one of seven Liverpool players on the shortlist alongside Alisson Becker, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Georginio Wijnaldum, Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane and Roberto Firmino.

You might also like