West Bengal By-Polls: Mamata Banerjee Claims Victory In All Four Seats

West Bengal Chief Minister and Trinamool Congress (TMC) supremo Mamata Banerjee has claimed victory in all four seats in by-polls on Tuesday.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has however declared results of only two constituencies – Dinhata and Khardah.

The TMC is although leading in the other two constituencies, Gosaba and Santipur, with 1,60 231 votes and 1,10,907 votes respectively.

According to the ECI, TMC’s Sovandeb Chattopadhyay has won the Khardaha assembly seat by a margin of over 93,000 votes, whereas in Dinhata constituency, TMC’s Udayan Guha won by a margin of over 1.6 lakh votes.

“My heartiest congratulations to all the four winning candidates! This victory is people’s victory, as it shows how Bengal will always choose development and unity over propaganda and hate politics. With people’s blessings, we promise to continue taking Bengal to greater heights!,” Banerjee tweeted.

TMC leader Derek O’Brien also claimed victory in all four seats.

“Beyond the headlines of TMC’s HUGE WIN in 4 bypolls, some nuggets neck and neck fight for 2nd/3rd position between BJP and CPIM. BJP lost in Minister of State for Home’s own booth. Margin in Dinhata: from minus 57 in May to + 1.5 lakh. Shah ain’t going to Bengal till next Diwali?” Derek tweeted.

Earlier this year, the Mamata Banerjee-led TMC registered a landslide victory in polls winning 213 seats in the 294-member West Bengal assembly. The BJP emerged as the second-largest party with 77 seats.

You might also like