Mizoram: MNF Candidate K Laldawngliana Wins Tuirial Seat

Mizo National Front (MNF) candidate K Laldawngliana won the Tuirial seat in the Mizoram bypoll defeating his nearest opponent Laltlanmawia of Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) by a margin of 1,284 votes.

The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) on Tuesday swept the bye-election to Tuirial Assembly seat by securing 39.96% of the total 14,561 votes polled.

Four candidates contested the Mizoram bye-election to Tuirial seat, held on October 30.

The counting of votes began at 8 am at Government Kolasib College under strict COVID19 proctols.

Laldawngliana secured 5,820 while Laltlanmawia slipped to 4,536 votes (31.15%).

Congress candidates Chalrosanga Ralte finished at third by securing 3,927 (26.96%) and BJP nominee K. Laldinthara managed to secure 246 votes, which is 1.68% of the total votes polled.

There are 17,911 electorates in Tuirial constituency and 81.29% of them cast their votes in the bye-election held on October 30, election officials said.

Poll pundits said the Tuirial bye-election was one of the hottest contests in Assembly bye-election in the political history of the state.

This is the third bye-election in the present term.

ALSO READ: Himachal Bypolls: Congress Ahead In 2 Of 3 Assembly Seats, Tight Contest In Mandi

You might also like