MNF wins majority in Mizoram

The results for the Mizoram assembly have been declared. The MNF has won 26 seats, the Congress has won five seats, the BJP has won one and Independents 8.

Mizo National Front (MNF) has secured the required majority of 21 seats in the 40-member Mizoram Assembly, thus it is set to come in power after 10 years. With this, Congress has lost its last foothold in the Northeastern states. So far, Congress has secured five seats and BJP has won one seat in the state Assembly.

Party workers were seen distributing sweets in MNF office. The ZPM and Independents may have a significant role to play in case the Mizoram election results lead to a hung assembly.


You might also like