‘Modi Tsunami’ sweeps the nation | KEY POINTS


The Congress is leading in Rae Bareli, where UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi was ahead of Dinesh Pratap Singh of the BJP by over 20,000 votes.

Congress president Rahul Gandhi is facing a tough battle from BJP’s Smriti Irani in Amethi.

In a nail-biting contest, Irani is leading by nearly 10,000 votes. So far, Gandhi has received 94,732 votes, while the Union minister has won 104,498 votes.

As the BJP headed for a landslide victory and a second term riding on a stunning performance in states like Bengal, Mamata Banerjee said: “Congratulations to the winners. But all losers are not losers.”

Mamata Banerjee fought hard to preserve her territory as the BJP campaigned aggressively in 42-seat Bengal. Her Trinamool Congress is at 23, but the BJP followed closely with 17 seats.

Mamata tweets ‘all losers are not losers’, vows review

In addition to these, BJP has made handsome gains in the Hindi heartlands and Gujarat, it also rippled through West Bengal, Odisha, Maharashtra and Karnataka. Only Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh appeared untouched. 

BJP’s Pragya Singh Thakur has established a lead by more than one lakh votes over her Congress rival Digvijay Singh in Bhopal Lok Sabha seat.

You might also like