National Press Day observed across the Nation


National Press Day 2019 has observed across India on November 16. This day is observed on this day every year.

 The day marks the presence of an independent and responsible press in India. The media is called the fourth pillar of democracy. It is said that journalists are a mirror of society, which brings out the truth even in adverse circumstances. This day symbolizes freedom of the press and its responsibilities towards the society. The Press Council of India started functioning on this day. Today, around 50 countries in the world have the Press Council or Media Council. The Press Council of India is an autonomous body to exercise authority even over the instruments of the state in its duty to safeguard the independence of the press.

Information and Broadcasting Minister Prakash Javadekar has extended his greetings to the media fraternity on the occasion of National Press Day.

In his tweet, he said, Press freedom is the essence of a vibrant democracy and this government is ensuring full freedom to the press. Media can criticise but should guard against ‘fake news’ and desist from disinformation and misinformation. He said, there is ethic for every freedom. He said freedom of media was trampled upon by the Congress during an emergency.

On the other hand, Dibrugarh district administration, in association with Dibrugarh Press Club and Greater Dibrugarh Press Club, also observed the district-level National Press Day, 2019 at the District Training Auditorium within the campus of DC office. A discussion will be held on the topic, ‘A journey towards Media Presentation and its significance’.

The National Press had observed by the district administration in association with District Information and Public Relations Office at the premises of Golaghat Circuit House on November 16. The programme of National Press Day officially inaugurated by the Deputy Commissioner of Golaghat, Dhiren Hazarika.

In the programme, prominent journalist Apurba Baruah also takes part as a special speaker of the programme. On occasion of National Press Day, the organizers will felicitate altogether six senior journalists in the programme.

You might also like