New Cabinet, Old faces – Musharraf’s ministers, advisers in Imran Khan’s ministry


The newly elected Prime Minister of Pakistan, Imran Khan, unveiled its 21 member cabinet on Sunday. Shockingly, 12 out of the 21 new cabinet ministers have previously served under former dictator General (Retd) Pervez Musharraf.

This has drawn a lot of ire and criticism from across the world, India and from Pakistan within.

Former spokesperson of Musharraf, his attorney and several others of his cabinet and core team have found a place in the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) government. The Cabinet members included in Imran Khan’s cabinet that served under Musharraf in various capacities include Farogh Naseem, Tariq Bashir Cheema, Ghulam Sarwar Khan, Zubaida Jalal, Fawad Chauhdry, Sheikh Rashid Ahmad, Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui, Shafqat Mehmood, Makhdoom Khusro Bakhtiar, Abdul Razak Dawood, Dr Ishrat Hussain and Amin Aslam.

Out of the 21 cabinet members, 16 will be ministers while five others will be advisers to the 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan, said Fawad Chaudhry Spokesman of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI).

Shah Mahmood Qureshi, veteran politician will be the foreign minister of Pakistan.

Qureshi was the foreign minister of Pakistan from 2008 to 2011, under the Pakistan Peoples Party government when the 2008 Mumbai terror attack took place.

You might also like