Nowgong: Congress takes over


At a time when BJP is winning several major Congress bastion seats, simultaneously, Congress has also been successful in retaining the favour.

The Indian National Congress has gained the Nowgong Lok Sabha constituency seat which had been held by the BJP since 1999 by sitting MP Rajen Gohain.

Congress candidate Pradyut Bordoloi has won the seat with 739724 votes leaving behind the BJP candidate Rupak Sharma who bagged 722972. The former had clinched the seat by a narrow margin of 16,752 votes.

During the release of candidates list, there were talks all around as MP Rajen Gohain, who was serving for his 4th term, had been replaced allegedly owing to charges of sexual harassment case against him and also he was not selected for candidature of any of the LS seats.

You might also like