Parliament’s Winter Session starts Dec 11


The Winter Session of Parliament will begin on December 11 in New Delhi. The session, which is likely to have a total of 20 sittings, will conclude on January 8, 2019.

The session will begin on the same day as the assembly election results in Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram, Rajasthan and Telangana.

There are 23 bills listed for consideration and passage during the session. Another 20 new bills are listed for introduction, consideration, and passage. Two bills have been listed for withdrawal during the session.

The government has called an all-party meeting on Monday ahead of the session to seek cooperation from the political parties for the smooth functioning of the two Houses.

A joint parliamentary committee, which is examining the contentious Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2016, is likely to table its report during the winter session of Parliament. But, central government has not confirmed to present the Bill in the session.

The Bill, aimed at altering the Citizenship Act, 1955, has encountered fierce opposition from Northeastern states. Even the Asom Gana Parishad, a constituent of the BJP-led ruling coalition in Assam, has pitched itself strongly against the Bill. Another BJP ally, the Janata Dal (United), has extended its support to the AGP on the issue. The AGP has said that the Bill is against the interests of “indigenous people”.

You might also like