Public holiday declared on December 5 in 16 districts


December 5 has been declared a public holiday by Governor of Assam Jagdish Mukhi  for the smooth conduct of the 1st phase of the Panchayat elections in 16 districts.

Tinsukia, Dibrugarh, Sivasagar, Charaideo, Jorhat, Majuli, Golaghat, Nagaon, Dhemaji, Lakhimpur, Biswanath, Sonitpur, Darrang, Morigaon, Kamrup (Metro) and Kamrup (Rural) districts will remain closed according to the Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs notification.

All Government, Non-Government offices, Educational institutions, Business Establishments including Banks, Tea Garden Industries, etc. will remain closed on account of the public holiday under Section 25 of N.I. Act, 1881.

The Panchayat polls in Assam will be held on December 5 and December 9 in 26 districts and 14 civil sub-divisions in two phases. The counting will take place on December 12.

A total of 1,56,41,456 voters will exercise their franchise out of which 8,12,38,35 are male and 7,51,76,21 are female voters. A total of 23,505 polling stations will be set up out of which 8243 polling stations have been marked as ‘sensitive’ and 3665 as ‘very sensitive’.

You might also like