Rajya Sabha members can now speak in any of 22 Scheduled Languages, announces Chairman


Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu had announced on Tuesday that from the upcoming Monsoon Session of the Parliament, which begins from the 18th of July, the Members of the Rajya Sabha can speak in any of the Scheduled 22 languages.

Naidu informed that simultaneous interpretation facility has been added in five more languages in the Upper House of the Parliament. The languages have been announced to be Sindhi, Santhali, Dogri, Kashmiri, and Konkani.

Further, Naidu said he always believed that one’s mother tongue is the natural medium to convey one’s thoughts and feelings without withholding anything.

Interpreters of the Lok Sabha are being deployed for five languages. These languages are Bodo, Maithili, Manipuri, Marathi, and Nepali.

Rajya Sabha had earlier established the Simultaneous Interpretation Service for Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Oriya, Punjabi, Tamil, Telugu, and Urdu.

You might also like