Baishya, Tasa take oath as RS members


The newly elected two Rajya Sabha members from Assam – AGP’s Birendra Prasad Baishya and BJP’s Kamakhya Prasad Tasa on Thursday took oath of the office. Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu administered the oath. Both of the MPs took oath in Assamese.

It may be mentioned here that Baishya and Tasa were officially declared unopposed winners for the two Rajya Sabha seats from Assam on May 31. No other candidate filed nominations for the RS seats. The Congress also didn’t project anyone for the seats, as the party does not have the required number of legislators to ensure their victory.

Meanwhile, President Ram Nath Kovind addressed a joint session of parliament today.  The President said that the people have given a very clear mandate in the recently-concluded elections and the government is working for ‘Sabka Saath, Sabka Vikas’.

You might also like