8 candidates file nomination for Outer Manipur

Representative Image
Representative Image

Altogether eight candidates belonging to different political parties, who will be contesting for the Outer parliamentary seat of Manipur, filed their nomination papers on the last day of doing so, at Thoubal DC Complex, district election officials said.

The candidates include representatives of BJP, Indian National Congress (INC), Naga People's Front (NPF), National People's Party (NPP), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Manipur People's Party (MPP), North East India Development Party (NEIDP), Janata Dal United, officials informed.

Outer parliamentary seat is reserved for the Scheduled Tribe population of the state.

Scrutiny for all the candidates who filed their nominations today will be carried out on Tuesday.

Chief Minister N Biren Singh also accompanied BJP's Outer candidate H Shokhopao.

On the other hand, Congress president Gaikhangam, who had accompanied it's candidate K James, said the hope of BJP winning 300 seats is a "daydream" adding "people have realised …NDA govt has failed in every front."

Gaikhangam expressed his confidence that "Congress will return to power."

Polls for the Outer seat is scheduled on April 11.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Pratidin Time