Assam Bypolls: 7.96L Voters To Decide Fate of 31 Candidates

Assam Bypolls: 7.96L Voters To Decide Fate of 31 Candidates
Representative Image

The Assam Election Commission is all set for the ensuing bye-election to the five seats of the Legislative Assembly. The elections will be held on October 30 and the counting of the votes will carried out on November 2.

A total 7, 96,456 general electors will exercise their right to franchise, of which, 4, 03,374 are males; 3, 93,078 are females and 4 are transgender. Apart from these, there are also 3,165 service voters. 8, 864 electors are above 80 years of age and 4, 998 falls under the PwD category.

31 candidates are in fray for polls, out of which eight in each Gossaigaon and Bhabanipur LAC, six in Tamulpur, four in Mariani and five in Thowra LAC.

The constituency having the highest number of electors out of five constituencies is Tamulpur LAC having 2, 17,432 electors. The constituencies having the lowest number of electors is Thowra LAC having 1, 15,971 electors.

The election machinery has taken care of all arrangements for conduct of a free and fair elections and in a safe manner following all Covid-19 protocols. Each and every polling station will be sanitised one day prior to poll and facility of thermal scanning, hand sanitisers, face masks are also made available at the polling stations.

During this Assembly Bye-Election – 2021, a total of 5,410 polling personnel will be engaged and a total of 1, 869 Ballot Units (BUs); 1, 844 Control Unit (CUs) and 1, 861 VVPATs will be used.

Live monitoring and webcasting tools will be used by the ECI, Chief Electoral Officer, and District Election Officer for monitoring of poll day proceedings as per ECI's direction. Webcasting will be done in all the 1,176 polling stations. Out of these, 285 are in 28-Gossaigaon, 213 at 41-Bhabanipur, 322 at 58-Tamulpur, 183 at 101-Mariani and 173 at 107-Thowra constituencies.

Also, Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) have been deployed at each polling station location for security measures to ensure a conducive atmosphere for the smooth conduct of election.

Besides, option of postal ballot facility is extended to the senior citizens above the age of 80 years, PwDs, COVID-19 suspect or affected persons, in addition to the persons employed in essential services.

Assured Minimum Facilities for PwD electors are made available at all the polling stations. Arrangements like transport facility for elderly people, assistance from volunteers to PwDs and senior citizens are arranged at the polling stations. For convenience of the PwD electors Divyaang Sarathi Nirvachan has been developed.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Pratidin Time