Counting Of By-Poll Votes In 3 Lok Sabha & 29 Assembly Seats Today

Representative Image
Representative Image

Votes will be counted on Tuesday in three Lok Sabha and 29 assembly constituencies spread across Assam and other 12 states and the Union Territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli where by-elections were held in October 30.

The assembly by-elections which saw a high turnout were held in five seats in Assam, four in West Bengal, three each in Madhya Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, and Meghalaya, two each in Bihar, Karnataka, and Rajasthan, and one seat each is in Andhra Pradesh, Haryana, Maharashtra, Mizoram, and Telangana, stated reports.

According to sources, the ruling BJP has fielded candidates in three seats in Assam leaving the other two to alliance partner United People's Party Liberal (UPPL). The Congress has fielded its nominees in all the five seats and the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) and the Bodoland People's Front (BPF)—its former allies,—are contesting in two and one seats respectively.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) grabbed around half a dozen constituencies out of the 29 assembly seats, the Congress party nine, and the rest were grabbed by regional parties.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Pratidin Time