Know your Lok Sabha constituency: Nowgong

Know your Lok Sabha constituency: Nowgong

97 parliamentary constituencies spread over 13 States and Union Territories will go to polls in the phase-II of polling of Lok Sabha elections on April 18. The campaigning for this phase ended today.

In Assam, five parliamentary constituencies will go to polls in this phase. Out of these constituencies, here are some details about the Nowgong constituency:

There are 7 candidates in the fray for the Nowgong Lok Sabha seat. The candidates are:

  1. Pradyut Bordoloi (INC)
  2. Rupak Sharma (BJP)
  3. Sahadeb Das (All India Trinamool Congress)
  4. Azgor Ali (Purvanchal Janata Party-Secular)
  5. Saiful Islam Choudhury (Asom Jana Morcha)
  6. Sukanta Mazumdar (Bharatiya Gana Parishad)
  7. Zakir Hussain (Independent)

Out of these 7 candidates, the major fight will be in between Congress' Pradyut Bordoloi and BJP's Rupak Sharma.

  • Total voters: 17,90,684
  • Male voters: 9,18,386
  • Female voters: 8,72,249
  • Transgender voters: 49
  • Total polling stations: 2,283

Assembly Constituencies:

  1. Jagiroad (SC)
  2. Marigaon
  3. Laharighat
  4. Raha (SC)
  5. Nowgong
  6. Barhampur
  7. Jamunamukh
  8. Hojai
  9. Lumding

Results in last five Lok Sabha elections:

  • 1998: Nripen Goswami, INC
  • 1999: Rajen Gohain, BJP
  • 2004: Rajen Gohain, BJP
  • 2009: Rajen Gohain, BJP
  • 2014: Rajen Gohain, BJP

Related Stories

No stories found.
Pratidin Time