Violence disrupts in Phase-II Polling

Violence disrupts in Phase-II Polling

Polling is being held today in 14 seats in Karnataka, 10 in Maharashtra, eight in UP, five each in Assam, Bihar and Odisha, three each in Chhattisgarh and West Bengal, two in Jammu and Kashmir and one seat each in Manipur and Puducherry.

Violence was reported from several places on Thursday during the second phase of the Lok Sabha election 2019.

Polling in Chhattisgarh witnessed violence with an ITBP jawan suffering minor injuries after Naxals triggered an IED blast in Rajnandgaon district.

Sporadic incidents of violence were reported in some areas of Bengal. Police fired in the air and lobbed tear gas shells to control the mob.

In West Bengal violence took a different turn.The car of CPI(M) candidate and sitting member of Parliament Md Salim, who is up against the Congress' Deepa Dasmunsi in Raiganj, was attacked in Islampur.

An EVM was also vandalized during a clash between TMC and BJP workers in Chopra inside a polling booth.

Violence disrupts polling in Inner Manipur. Security personnel said some of the locals pushed CRPF personnel compelling the later to react by firing a few blank shots in the air and commit lathicharge.

In Assam's Laharighat, voters were seen fighting amongst each other.The incident took place when they were in queue. 3 women were injured in the violence.The victims were identified as Jeshmina Begum, Tashlima Begum and Rojina Begum.The incident took place in Balidunga High School booth.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Pratidin Time