15 key highlights of new National Education Policy

15 key highlights of new National Education Policy

The Cabinet on Wednesday approved the new National Education Policy (NEP) and renamed the HRD ministry as education ministry.

The NEP aims to revive all aspects of Indian education system, to regulate and control, to create a reformed system that is aligned with 21st century education goals, while keeping intact India's traditions and value systems.

This is the third NEP after policies that came in 1968, and 1986. The then government amended the 1986 policy in 1992.

Here are fifteen key highlights of the NEP:

1. Under the new policy, M.Phil. programmes will be discontinued.

2. All undergraduate, postgraduate and research programmes and courses will be inter-disciplinary.  By 2040, all higher education institutions (HEIs) shall aim to become multidisciplinary institutions, each of which will aim to have 3,000 or more students.

3. All higher education institutions except legal and medical institutions and colleges will be governed by a single regulator – the Higher Education Council of India (HECI)

4. The policy will universalize the pre-primary education (age range of 3-6 years) by 2025 and provide foundational literacy and numeracy for all by 2025.

5. The 10+2 system will be divided into 5+3+3+4 format. The NEP changes the school education system to a 5+3+3+4 format. This means the first five years of the school will comprise of the foundation stage including three years of pre-primary school and classes 1 and class 2. The next three years will be divided into a preparatory stage from classes 3 to 5. Later three years of middle stage (classes 6 to 8), and four years of secondary stage (classes 9 to 12). Schools will not have any rigid formation of streams of arts, commerce, science, students can take up whichever courses they want.

6. NEP has set an objective to achieve access and participation in free and compulsory school education for all children in the age group of 3-18 years by 2030.

7. Mathematical thinking, scientific temper to be part of course. Co-curriculum subjects like sports, vocational, arts, commerce, science, everything will be at the same level. Students can opt for courses as per choice. Students to be allowed to take up coding from class 6.

8. Board exams to undergo a huge change. Like mathematics for CBSE, all courses to be offered in two languages. The board exams across states to test knowledge application and not rote learning. For each subject to test objective and descriptive exam.

9. Life skills to be taught every year. Report card to have reviewed from teachers, peers, and students as well. Review assessment of performance. AI-based assessment of each year to be given to the student.

10. The three-language formula followed since the adoption of the National Policy on Education 1968, and endorsed in the National Policy on Education 1986/1992 as well as the NCF 2005, will be continued, keeping in mind the Constitutional provisions and aspirations of the people, regions, and the Union. Mother tongue to be a medium of instruction till 5th grade.

11. E-courses will be developed in regional languages; virtual labs will be developed and a National Educational technology Forum will be developed to impart knowledge online.

12. Undergrad autonomy, academic, administrative, and financial autonomy will be given to colleges, on the basis of the status of their accreditation. India has over 45,000 affiliated colleges.

13. Public investment in the education sector to reach 6% of GFP at the earliest. Currently, it's around 4.43% including state and center govt.

14. Aim to increase the gross enrolment ratio to 50% by 2035. To ensure the same, holistic, and multidisciplinary education with the flexibility of subjects to be allowed.

15. The common Entrance exam for all higher education institutes to be held by NTA. The exam will be optional and not mandatory.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Pratidin Time