BSP-SP Alliance Breaks Permanently

SP's Akhilesh Yadav (left) and BSP's Mayawati (right)
SP's Akhilesh Yadav (left) and BSP's Mayawati (right)

In a string of tweets, Mayawati announced that BSP will contest all elections, big and small, on its own and said that the BSP-SP alliance is completely over.

"It is known that all our old grievances with the SP were kept aside, along with the anti-Dalit and ant-BSP decisions taken by the SP government between 2012-17, works carried out that was against reservation in promotion and deteriorating law and order situation – were all kept aside and an alliance was formed in public interest which was honoured completely," she twitted.

In the recent Lok Sabha elections, their alliance managed to bag only 15 of UP's 80 seats, far less than the BJP's rich haul of 62.

However, BSP made more gains from a score of zero in 2014 to 10 in 2019, Mayawati has blamed Samajwadi Party for the failure to transfer its vote base to BSP.

After the humiliating defeat in the Lok Sabha election, Mayawati announced here decision to contest alone the bypolls in the 11 assembly seats insisting that it was not a 'permanent breakup'.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Pratidin Time