Byelection Results: BJP Leads in NE, Madhya Pradesh, TMC in Bengal

Byelection Results: BJP Leads in NE, Madhya Pradesh, TMC in Bengal

Counting of votes for three Lok Sabha and 29 assembly seats across 13 states and the Union Territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli is underway.

As per the initial trends, BJP is at an advantage in Northeast states and Madhya Pradesh. The Congress has a lead in Himachal Pradesh's Mandi parliamentary seat and three assembly seats of Fatehpur, Arki and Jubbai-Kothkai, according to the available trends. The party is also ahead in both seats of Rajasthan. In Bengal, the Trinamool Congress is leading in all four Assembly constituencies with massive margins. In Ellenabad, INLD's Abhay Chautala is in the lead.

The ruling JD(U) and main opposition RJD are leading in one assembly seat each in Bihar. The BJP candidates are ahead in Assam's Bhabanipur, Mariani and Thowra assembly constituencies while its ally UPPL is leading in Gossaigaon and Tamulpur.

A turnout of 50 per cent to 80 per cent was recorded during voting in three Lok Sabha and 29 Assembly constituencies that went for by-elections. The assembly by-elections were held in five seats in Assam, four in West Bengal, three each in Madhya Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh and Meghalaya, two each in Bihar, Karnataka and Rajasthan and one seat each in Andhra Pradesh, Haryana, Maharashtra, Mizoram and Telangana.

The Trinamool Congress in West Bengal is currently leading in all four assembly seats where bypolls were held at Khardah, Santipur, Gosaba and Dinhata. The party workers have already begun celebrations outside a counting centre in Dinhata.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Pratidin Time