Karnataka Congress Ministers Resign

Karnataka Cabinet's 22 Congress ministers resigned on Monday
Karnataka Cabinet's 22 Congress ministers resigned on Monday

Karnataka cabinet's all Congress ministers submitted their resignations to party's legislative leader Siddaramaiah on Monday by terming it as a bid to save the state's 13-month-old Congress-JD-S coalition government from collapsing.

"All our 22 ministers have submitted their resignation letters to Siddaramaiah to make way for the rebel legislators and save the coalition government," Congress' Karnataka in-charge KC Venugopal told reporters.

The 34-member ministry has 22 Congress ministers, 10 from Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) 10 and one each from Karnataka Pragnyavantha Janatha Party (KPJP) and Independent.

It may be mentioned here that earlier on Monday, Independent MLA H Nagesh also resigned as Small-Scale Industries Minister and withdrew support to the coalition government led by Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy.

He submitted his resignation letter to state Governor Vajubhai Vala at the Raj Bhavan.

H Nagesh got elected in the May 2018 Assembly elections from Mulbagal (SC) constituency in Kolar district.

It is worth mentioning here that trouble in Karnataka government began on Saturday when 10 Congress and three JD-S lawmakers resigned expressing lack of confidence in the government.

However, Assembly Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar is yet to decide on the resignations.

Related Stories

No stories found.

No stories found.
Pratidin Time