Polling in Telangana, Rajasthan begins

Polling in Telangana, Rajasthan begins

Voting for the 119-seat Telangana Assembly and 199-member Rajasthan Assembly has begun on Friday morning.

Polling began at 7 AM in Telangana and will conclude at 5 PM. Almost 2.8 crore electors including 4.6 lakh differently-abled voters are exercising their franchise at 32 thousand 815 polling stations across the state.

A total of 1821 candidates including 139 women are in the fray.

TRS is contesting in all 119 seats while the BJP is fighting in 118 seats. The Congress is contesting in 99 seats, TDP-13, TJS-8 and CPI in 3 seats.

MIM is in the contest for 8 seats, NCP for 22 while BSP for 107 segments.

In Rajasthan, polling began at 8 in the morning and will continue till 5 PM. Over four crore 74 lakh voters are exercising their franchise which include over 20 lakh voters who will cast their vote for the first time in the polls.

Union minister for information and broadcasting, youth affairs and sports Col.Rajyavardhan Rathore used his franchise with his wife and parents in Vaishali Nagar polling station in Jaipur this Morning.

Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje cast her vote in Jhalawar and Union Minister Arjun Ram Meghwal in Bikaner.

Nearly 52,000 polling booths, including at least one all- women booth in each constituency, have been set up.

Two thousand 274 candidates including 187 women are in the fray for 199 out of total 200 assembly seats in the state.

Counting of votes in both states will be taken up on Tuesday along with Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram.

(Featured Image: The Week)

Related Stories

No stories found.

No stories found.
Pratidin Time