Kohli bags top three ICC awards in single year

Kohli bags top three ICC awards in single year

Indian Cricket Team captain Virat Kohli has won all the top three ICC Awards after accumulating 1322 runs from 13 Tests, 1202 from 14 ODIs and 211 from T20Is.

Kohli won the  the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the year,  the ICC Men's Test Player of the Year and the ICC ODI Player of the Year – for his performances in 2018, it was announced on Tuesday. This was also Kohli's second successive ODI Player of the Year Award.

Kohli also became the first player in history to win all the three awards in a year.

Elated Kohli said, "It feels amazing. It's a reward for all the hard work that you do throughout the calendar year. I feel really grateful and very, very happy with the team doing well at the same time myself performing. Having recognition at the global level from the ICC is something you feel proud of as a cricketer because you understand that there are many players playing the game" .

Indian Wicket Keeper Batsmen Rishabh Pant was adjudged Men's Emerging Cricketer of the Year  who became the first Indian wicket-keeper to score a Test century in England, and equaled the record for the most catches taken in a Test, with 11 in Adelaide in December.

Aaron Finch's record-breaking innings of 172 off 76 balls against Zimbabwe in Harare was adjudged as the ICC Men's T20I Performance of the Year 2018.

Related Stories

No stories found.

No stories found.
Pratidin Time