Team India in World Cup history

Team India in World Cup history

There are 12 World Cup tournaments being held till date. Australia is the most successful country which won 5 World Cups. India & West Indies are the only two countries which have won the world cup 2 times each.

India won the World Cup in 1983 and 2011, while West Indies won in 1975 and 1979. Pakistan and Sri Lanka are the other two countries that have won the World Cup in 1992 and 1996 respectively. England is the only country which lost 2 finals and hosted the world cup 5 times.

1983 and 2011
The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup was the tenth Cricket World Cup. It was played in India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh. India won the tournament, defeating Sri Lanka by 6 wickets in the final at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, thus becoming the first country to win the Cricket World Cup final on home soil.
India's 1983 World Cup victory was a major turning point for Indian as well as world cricket. The win boosted the popularity of cricket in India, which was until then restricted to the urban areas.

The 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup is the 12th edition of the Cricket World Cup, being hosted by England and Wales from 30 May to 14 July 2019.
Get ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Schedule, Scorecard updates, Highlights, Results here!

Related Stories

No stories found.
Pratidin Time