12 Nations To Host Afghan Evacuees: US

12 Nations To Host Afghan Evacuees: US

Amid the Afghan crisis leading to the evacuation of nearly 12,000 people, United States Secretary of State Antony Blinken has stated that 12 countries have agreed to at least temporarily host at-risk Afghans evacuated from the war-torn country.

Blinken says in a Friday (US time) statement that potential Afghan refugees not already cleared for resettlement in the United States will be housed at facilities in Albania, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Chile, Kosovo, North Macedonia, Mexico, Poland, Qatar, Rwanda, Ukraine, and Uganda.

Transit countries include Bahrain, Britain, Denmark, Germany, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Qatar, Tajikistan, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, and Uzbekistan.

Blinken said, "We are encouraged by other countries that are also considering providing support. We have no higher priority than the safety and security of U.S. citizens overseas and to fulfill our commitments to citizens of partner nations and at-risk Afghans."

So far, India has evacuated 170 people that included Indian citizens and diplomats.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Pratidin Time