88 NLFT militants surrender in Tripura

88 NLFT militants surrender in Tripura

88 militants belonging to the banned outfit National Liberation Front of Tripura (NLFT), Sabir Debbarma faction, have surrendered in Tripura's Dhakai district.

The militants surrendered in presence of Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb and his deputy Jishnu Debbarma in Ambassa today.

On Sunday, a tripartite Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) had been signed between NLFT (SD), Tripura Government and the Central Government, according to which the outfit has agreed to abjure the path of violence, join the mainstream and abide by the Constitution of India. 

The surrendered cadres will be helped by the Tripura government in terms of housing, recruitment, education among others.

Related Stories

No stories found.

No stories found.
Pratidin Time